Tony Burke hosts morning tea to recognise our local heroes

Tony Burke, Member for Watson, hosted a morning tea to congratulate volunteers from the local community, presenting the recipient with a certificate of congratulations.


These Awards say thank you to individuals who make an important contribution to our community through volunteering.

“Our community relies heavily on the contribution of volunteers –local heroes who give up their free time, energy and expertise to support our community and deliver services, in the areas of sport, emergency services and community welfare.”

“It is important to acknowledge that our volunteers not only strengthen our community in Watson, but as a nation we are all the richer for them.”

The following local volunteers and organisations received the award:

Ms Damei Zheng - Cass Care
Mr Ken Shiqing Wang - Chinese Australian Services Society
Janne Bidenko -Deaf Blind Association NSW
Mr Richard Sun - ELEAN
Shaykh. Khaled Saj - Lakemba Islamic Association
Ron Brown OAM - National Servicemen's Association of Australia NSW
June Donavan - 2RDJ-FM Community Radio
Denis King - St George Leagues Club Cricket Club
Western Suburbs District Rugby League Referees Association
Joseph Chidiac - Wheelchair Rugby League Australia
Ms Nadia Chami - Melkite Welfare Association
Helena Lee - Korean Welfare Association
Helen Lewis - Greenacre area Community Centre
George Nwosu - Belmore Youth Resource Centre
Mr Noor Hla Win Kawbir - Metro Migrant Resource Centre
Nigel Beattie - Recreation Sports and Aquatics Club
Shiriley Garzon - Belmore Youth Resource Centre
Farhat Inan - Belmore Youth Resource Centre
Faraan Mirza - Belmore Youth Resource Centre
Paniora Nukunuku - Belmore Youth Resource Centre
Hady Saleh - Belmore Youth Resource Centre
Chayan Senm - Belmore Youth Resource Centre
Joanne Morrison - Belmore Youth Resource Centre
Ms Ming XU - Chinese Australian Services Society
Mr Stanley Chan - Cass Care
Mr George Poon - ELEAN
Khaled El Bacha - Lakemba Islamic Association
George Sachse - National Servicemen's Association of Australia NSW
Stephanie Berry - 2RDJ-FM Community Radio
Michael Johnson - Wheelchair Rugby League Australia
Deacon Michael Suliman - Melkite Welfare Association
Julie Han - Korean Welfare Association
Marilyn Ledger - Recreation Sports and Aquatics Club
Jinsik Son - Asian Youth and Culture Council