Local Students among Australia’s Best and Brightest

Tony Burke, Member for Watson, today hosted an awards ceremony and afternoon tea to acknowledge Australian Student Prize recipients and Local Sporting Champions. The Australian Student Prize recognises academic excellence and is presented to 500 students across Australia each year with 152 from New South Wales. 

Tony Burke congratulated Lucy Cavallaro and Petronilla Grace from MLC School Burwood and Vivek Srinivasan from Trinity Grammar School, from the Watson Electorate, who were awarded an Australian Student Prize for the 2011 school year.

Each winner received a certificate for excellence in secondary education and an award of $2000 from the Federal Labor Government.

“The Prize is a way of promoting and rewarding excellence in our schools, and supporting talented young Australians with bright futures ahead of them.”

“This is a fantastic achievement that the students, parents and also our local community can be very proud of. I wish the students all the best in the coming years,” Mr Burke said.

Mr Burke also presented three successful recipients of the Local Sporting Champions program.

The Local Sporting Champions program is an Australian Government initiative designed to provide assistance for junior sportsmen and women. 

“It can be really difficult to meet the costs associated with participating in state or national sporting championships,” Mr Burke said.

“That’s why the Government is investing in the Local Sporting Champions grants program to support young athletes and their families.

“I congratulate each of these young people on their sporting success.”

The Local Sporting Champions program offers grants of $500 for individuals and $3000 for teams for athletes aged between 12-18 years. 

The grants can be used to meet travel costs, accommodation, uniforms or equipment and are also open to young coaches, umpires and referees.

Local winners include Daniel Fornito from Canterbury (Soccer), Keenan Gibson from Strathfield (Indoor Football/Futsal), Marissa Kassapakis from Clempton Park (Soccer).

The next round of Local Sporting Grants are open until 31 October 2012. For more details call Tony Burke’s office on 9750 9088 or visit www.ausport.gov.au.