About Watson

The electorate of Watson is located within the inner metropolitan area of Sydney, New South Wales.

It is named after Australia’s first Labor Prime Minister, John Christian (Chris) Watson who lived from 1867-1941 and served as Prime Minister of Australia from 27 April 1904 to 17 August 1904.

Watson covers an area of approximately 42 square kilometres and contains within its boundaries the suburbs of Belfield, Belmore, Burwood Heights, Campsie, Chullora, Croydon Park, Enfield, Greenacre, Lakemba, Mount Lewis, Punchbowl, Rookwood, Roselands, Strathfield South, Wiley Park as well as parts of Ashfield, Ashbury, Bankstown, Burwood, Canterbury, Lidcombe, Kingsgrove and Strathfield.

Watson is characterised by its cultural and linguistic diversity and a relatively youthful age profile when compared with the state average. At the time of the 2006 Census the population of Watson was 152,579 persons.  

If you live or work in the Watson area and need help with Federal Government services, you are welcome to contact my electorate office on 9750 9088.